Thursday, July 9, 2015

Review: Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

My Rating: 5 Stars
Date Read: July 2015

Publication Date: February 14, 2014
Paperback, 197 pages



Summary from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Metrilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me andDestroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap betweenUnravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam's more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.



My Review:

OH. MAH. GOSH. I looooooove Tahereh Mafi, okay? She's just the most fantastic person EVER.

I was obsessed with her Shatter Me series, and I was super upset when it ended {I cried, y'all, it was serious business}.

So I finally got around to reading Unite Me, which is two novellas in one {in case ya didn't know}, and I was pumped because I got to "see" things happen again from different perspectives {Adam and Warner} and let me tell you, it was intense

We get to see that Warner isn't the monster everyone thinks he is {which is also something you would know if you've read the Series} but we get to see inside his head. Like, for instance, why he had Juliette kill Jenkins. We also get to see why he's so fascinated with Juliette.

And then with Adam we get to see that he isn't as perfect as he seems to be. *Sighs and shakes head* that boy and I had some words... He had his doubts about Juliette's innocence when Kenji got hurt, although he would never admit it out loud. And he was hesitant to go back out to save Juliette when Anderson captured her... KENJI was the one who gave him heck for that even though he was the one had gotten hurt. {which, okay, I see where Adam was coming from because of his brother and all, but still... ouch man, that really hurts.}

Each of the novellas ended at pretty crucial points of the book, and I found myself crying "Nooooooo, you can't do that to me! I need to know what happens!!" both times. Which is actually pretty hilarious, considering that I've already read the whole series several times, and I already know what is going to happen. But I think it was just because it was from different points of view, and I really wanted to see the rest of the story through their eyes and see what they really thought about different things.

No comments:

Post a Comment